亚克力材料

在尝试使用激光机切割亚克力之前,了解不同的亚克力材料非常重要。实际上,有以下两种亚克力材料适合使用激光机加工:亚克力浇铸板和亚克力挤出板。

亚克力浇铸板是将液体亚克力倒入具有各种形状和大小的模具中制作而成。您在市场上看到的奖牌大多数是使用这种类型的亚克力制作而成。亚克力浇铸板是用于雕刻的理想材料,因为它在雕刻时会变成磨砂白。您可以使用激光机切割亚克力浇铸板,但无法形成表面抛光的棱边。此类亚克力材料更适合雕刻。

另一种亚克力材料是亚克力挤出板,是非常受欢迎的一种切割材料。亚克力挤出板通过大批量生产工艺制成,因此其价格通常要低于亚克力浇铸板,而且使用激光束对这种材料进行切割时,产生的效果截然不同。亚克力挤出板切割起来非常干净、平滑,并且会在激光切割时产生表面抛光的棱边。但雕刻时不会产生磨砂白效果,而是会形成相当清晰的雕刻花纹。

激光切割亚克力

要在切割亚克力挤出板时实现最佳效果,您需要将材料抬起,使其不要接触切割台。这样可以大大减少背后反射,以及激光切割后材料上出现网格标记的概率。

Epilog 的引脚台是帮助您在亚克力挤出板上实现出色切割效果的理想配件。借助这款便捷设备,您可以抬起并支撑您的亚克力材料以实现更好的棱边切割质量。引脚台含有可移动引脚,这些引脚可沿切割台的网格(相隔一英寸 [25.4 毫米] 一个洞)放置在任意位置。 您可以将亚克力材料抬升并支撑到激光机不会切割的位置,从而帮助消除背后反射。引脚台还允许您放置引脚以支撑正常情况下会脱离切割模板的小工件或复杂工件。 

可以切割多厚的亚克力材料?

这取决于激光切割机的功率。

30 或 40 瓦的 Epilog 系统可以切割最厚 0.25 英寸的亚克力材料。切割机功率越大,切割的材料越厚。50 或 60 瓦的切割机可以切割厚约 3/8" 的亚克力材料,而 75 或 120 瓦的系统可以切割厚约 1/2" 的亚克力材料,而且如果切割两次,切割厚度可能会达到 3/4"。

激光切割速度

通常在速度相对较慢且功率相对较高的情况下切割亚克力效果最佳。此切割过程会使激光束熔化亚克力材料的棱边,基本上会产生表面抛光的棱边

现在,多家亚克力制造商生产不同颜色、纹理和图案的各种亚克力浇铸板和亚克力挤压板。种类如此繁多,因此亚克力成为备受欢迎的激光切割和雕刻材料也就不足为奇了。

激光雕刻的亚克力

大多数情况下,激光机用户会在亚克力背面进行雕刻,使正面产生透视效果。这种雕刻方式通常用于制作亚克力奖牌。

亚克力板正面和背面通常都带有防止刮擦的保护性粘合薄膜。我们建议您在开始雕刻之前先将亚克力背面的保护性粘纸撕掉,但保留正面的保护性覆盖层,防止在处理材料时发生刮擦。在将作业发送到激光机之前,请务必颠倒或镜像显示您的图稿,因为您要在背面雕刻。

在速度较快且功率较低的情况下,亚克力的雕刻效果通常比较好。亚克力打标不需要太大的激光机功率,而且如果功率过高,您会发现材料会轻微变形。

对切割亚克力的激光机感兴趣?

填写本页面上的表格,即可获得完整的产品系列宣传册,以及激光切割和雕刻的样品。

主要的亚克力供应商有哪些?

您可以从多家材料供应商处采购亚克力浇铸板和亚克力挤压板。以下是一些常见的采购源:

有关更多材料供应商,请查看我们的行业链接列表。

亚克力激光加工的一般提示

2) 确保选择适合您的应用场合的亚克力材料。请注意,亚克力浇铸板更适合雕刻,而亚克力挤压板则更适合激光切割。

3) 使用 Epilog 的引脚台或其他支撑抬起亚克力材料,以消除背后反射。

您可以承接哪些类型的亚克力项目?

亚克力是耐用且实用的激光加工材料。这种材料颜色和纹理种类繁多,适合各种用途:

  • 销售点标牌
  • 方向标牌
  • 耳环/吊坠/纽扣
  • Containers/boxes
  • Cake/cupcake toppers
  • Custom awards
  • Holiday ornaments
  • 还有更多!
所有应用
help desk software
Portions of this page translated by Google.

Types of Acrylic

Before beginning to experiment with acrylic in your laser, it's important to understand the different types of this substrate. There are actually two types of acrylics suitable for use with the laser: cast and extruded.

Cast acrylic sheets are made from a liquid acrylic that is poured into molds that can be set into various shapes and sizes. This is the type of acrylic used for most of the awards you see on the market. Cast acrylic is ideal for engraving because it turns a frosty white color when engraved. Cast acrylic can be cut with a laser, but it will not result in flame-polished edges. This acrylic material is better suited for engraving.

The other type of acrylic is known as extruded acrylic, which is a very popular cutting material. Extruded acrylic is formed through a higher-volume manufacturing technique, so it is typically less expensive than cast, and it reacts very differently with the laser beam. Extruded acrylic will cut cleanly and smoothly and will have a flame-polished edge when laser cut. But when it is engraved, instead of a frosted look you will have a clear engraving.

Laser Cutting Acrylic

To achieve the best results when cutting extruded acrylic, you'll want to elevate the material so that it's not touching the cutting table. This will greatly reduce backside reflection and the occurrence of grid marks on the material after being laser cut.

Epilog's Pin Table is the perfect accessory to help you get those perfect cuts on extruded acrylic. This handy device allows you to raise and support your acrylic for better cutting edge quality. The Pin Table incorporates movable pins that can be placed anywhere along the table's grid of one inch (25.4 mm) spaced holes. The acrylic is raised and supported in locations where the laser will not be cutting, which is what helps eliminate backside reflection. The Pin Table also allows you to place pins to support small or intricate parts that would normally fall out of the cutting pattern.

How thick of acrylic can you cut?

This will depend on the wattage of your laser cutter.

A 30 or 40-watt Epilog system will cut through up to one-quarter inch of acrylic. As you increase in wattage, you will be able to increase the thickness you can work with. A 50 or 60-watt machine will allow you to cut through closer to 3/8" of acrylic, and a 75 or 120-watt system will allow you to cut closer to 1/2" or possibly 3/4" with two passes.

Laser Cutting Speeds

Cutting acrylic is usually best achieved with relatively slow speed and high power. This cutting process allows the laser beam to melt the edges of the acrylic and essentially produce a flame-polished edge.

Today, there are a several acrylic manufacturers who produce a variety of both cast and extruded acrylics that feature different colors, textures, and patterns. With so much variety, it's no wonder acrylic is a very popular material to laser cut and engrave.

Laser Engraving Acrylic

For the most part, laser users engrave acrylic on the back side to produce a look-through effect from the front. You’ll see this often on acrylic awards.

Acrylic sheets typically come with a protective adhesive film on the front and back to prevent it from getting scratched. We recommend removing the protective adhesive paper from the back of the acrylic before engraving, and leaving the protective cover layer on the front to prevent scratching while handling the material. Don’t forget to reverse or mirror your artwork before sending the job to the laser since you’ll be engraving the back side.

Acrylics generally engrave well at a high speed and low power. It doesn’t take much laser power to mark the acrylic, and if your power is too high you’ll notice some distortion in the material.

Interested in a laser machine for cutting acrylic?

Fill out the form on this page to get a full product line brochure and laser cut and engraved samples.

Who are some of the main acrylic suppliers?

You can acquire cast and extruded acrylic from a number of materials suppliers. Here are a few common sources:

Find more materials suppliers in our Industry Links listings.

General Laser Processing Tips for Acrylic

2) Make sure to choose the right type of acrylic for your application. Remember, cast acrylic is better for engraving, while extruded acrylic is better suited for laser cutting.

3) Elevate the acrylic - using Epilog's Pin Table or other supports - to eliminate backside reflection.

What types of acrylic projects can you make?

Acrylic is a durable and practical material for laser processing. The variety of colors and textures make this material ideal for all kinds of things:

  • Point of purchase signage
  • Directional signage
  • Earrings/pendants/buttons
  • Containers/boxes
  • Cake/cupcake toppers
  • Custom awards
  • Holiday ornaments
  • And much more!
All Applications
help desk software